Posted in Uncategorized

Good Bye, January 2016

Can you believe it? The first month of 2016 is nearly over!  My parents were right, go figure.  Time really does start to move at a faster clip as we age.  I am amazed at how fast time goes by.

This year, my dad will have been gone 20 years! (A brother 18 years, my mother 17 years and a sister 2 years, this year.) Time waits for no one.

With that being said, what are we doing with our time?  My pastor gave a great point the other day in his sermon.  He said most of us pray “gimmie” prayers.  You know, ‘Lord, gimmie this or that’ or we pray “b” prayers, ‘be with them’ or ‘bless them’, etc.  My pastor suggested that we pray “Make it count” prayers.  Rather than gimmie” or ‘b’, we should ask Christ to “make it (whatever is the problem, crisis or concern) count” for His kingdom.  After all, we know that Christ will never leave us nor forsake us.  So no matter what we go through HE is with us.  We also know that in this world we will have trouble.

I want the time I have on this earth to count.  Not just for me and my family but for Christ and His kingdom!  The last few posts have been about goals and vision boards.  The things I have on my vision board may seem self-centered, but I don’t mean them like that.  For instance, I am working hard to declutter my house.  Why?  So my home is always ready for guests. So my mind is free from a messy distraction.  So I am ready and able to go and do as the Lord calls me.  It’s really hard for me to focus on my higher calling – living life on purpose, leaving a godly legacy – when I am distracted by clutter.  Clutter in the physical is indicative of a cluttered mind, I think.

I want my life to “count” for Christ.  Therefore, I am going to work, even mundane things, as to the glory of God.  I yearn for Christ to make my life count!

So, as we see January 2016 come to a close, let’s make it count.  I’d love to hear from you.  What are you striving for? How are you living on purpose this year?

Let’s make 2016 count!

Blessing to you – Wendy

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

