Posted in Christian, Legacy, Motivation

How to Live on Purpose?

Living-on-Purpose.jpg

Have you ever thought about how to live out your purpose?  I am assuming that you know your purpose.  Looking at the image above, what is NOT relevant anymore?  Your past. Don’t misunderstand me.  Your past has helped form who you are today, but it does not define who you are today or your future.  You get to choose your future and that is done by living on purpose today.

Take for example that you want to be  a medical doctor.  You do NOT go open an office and hang out a shingle with your name on it followed by MD.  No, you finish high school. Then you go to college (and do well, I might add).  Then, you apply for medical school until you are accepted and you complete medical school.  You do a residency  and sit for your licensing board.  Provided you pass all of that, you will become a medical doctor.  It takes years to accomplish. That is living on purpose.  Everything you choose to do in that example put you one step closer to reaching your calling as a medical doctor so you could live out your purpose as a physician.

Now, what if your purpose is more like mine.  To glorify Jesus Christ in all that I do and help others come to salvation in Him.  Regardless of your occupation, you do your very best because that’s what Christ calls all Christians to do.  You live a holy and blameless life as best you can with the help of the Holy Spirit.  You confess and get right with God when you sin. And above all, you tell people about your Savior.

Am I perfect at this? NO!!  But I pray I am getting better.  I try to love others the way Christ loves them, but I’m imperfect and I often fall short.  I do, however, try to be more like my Lord everyday.  Therefore, I try to look at every task as an act of worship.  And I try to see every person as the beautiful creation God made. And I am reminded often that my battle in this world is not with the people around me, even when we disagree, but it is in the spiritual realm.  But that is a topic for another day.

Live life on purpose.  We only have one life to live and don’t want to miss out on anything Christ has save me to do!

Blessings ~ Wendy

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

