Posted in Christian, Legacy, Motivation

Making the Mundane Matter

mundane

I get all “fired up” when I think about living out my purpose!  Don’t you?  But sooner or later, I get distracted by life – the mundane things in life, like washing dishes or doing laundry or even my job. Before I know it, what I’m doing and what I believe my purpose is seems to be on different planes.  And I hate that!

Well, wisdom really does come with age.  Whether we like it or not.  But I have learned some wisdom from two particular sources that the mundane things really do matter.  Since I’ve already mentioned age, I’ll start there.  I have seen in the life of my family and the lives of others that taking care of the mundane things give a sense of peace and security.  For example, we’ve all heard the saying, “If momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”  Well, that’s true because “momma” sets the tone for the family.  So cook, clean and go to work with a happy attitude because the family develops peace or chaos from us.  If we do every task with a willing heart and by our best standard, we make the mundane matter.

The other source that has taught me the mundane things matter, is the Bible. Scripture teaches us in Colossians 3:23  “Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men”. ‘Whatever’ includes the mundane things.

I have learned that there are very few things I can control.  Can I get an AMEN?  Really, maybe only one thing – my attitude.  (And I do a poor job of that sometimes!) I can gripe and complain about all the things I have to do for one reason or another that prevents me from doing my purposeful living OR I can choose to make all the things I have to do for one reason or another part of my purposeful living.  You see, if I shirk my “mundane” responsibilities so I can be about more”important” things, then I am nagged mentally that I should have already done thus and so.  But if I take care of the “mundane” responsibilities as unto the Lord, I have a sense of satisfaction of having done what I should so when I am doing the more “important” (in my mind) things, I have peace.  And so do those around me.

So make the mundane things in your life matter…because they do!

Blessings ~ Wendy

 

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

