Posted in Christian, Legacy, Motivation, quiet time

Quiet-Time

QuietTime

What is a quiet-time?  A quiet-time is a set time that you choose to be alone with God.  You pray and read scripture meditating on it and journal what He has spoken to you.  That’s my definition.

Why is a quiet-time so important?  A quiet-time is important because that’s when you “hear” from your Savior.  This is an intimate time with our Lord.  This is where our faith and relationship grow!  So how do I “do” a quiet-time?

Choose a time of day that you can set aside 30 minutes to an hour. Starting out, it may be 15 minutes. I prefer the morning because then I think about what I’ve read all day.

Pray confessing your sin and asking God to show you something in His Word; maybe a sin that you aren’t even aware of that you need to confess or guidance in a particular area of your life.

Then start reading.  I like to pick a book of the Bible and read a section of verses or chapter each day until I have read that book of the Bible.  Read for as long as you have OR until the Holy Spirit speaks to you.

Journal about what you read.  Write down something that caught your attention in the passage.  Then consider how that applies to you.  Write that down.  It may be something like this for example: I label where I’m reading –(Acts 4 chapter and verse), This is what caught my eye- (Peter and John were filled with the Holy Spirit and went out speaking in boldness.)  How it applies to me-(As a Christian, I am filled with the Holy Spirit so I, too, should be speaking in boldness.)

Pray about how the Holy Spirit spoke to you.  I write my prayer in my journal- (Dear Father, Draw me close to You so that I will seek Your ways and not my own.  Have full control over me by Your Holy Spirit so that I, too, may go out in boldness like Peter and John. In Jesus Name, Amen)   You will be amazed at how you will grow in your walk with the Lord by having a quiet-time with Him every day.

Blessings ~ Wendy

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

