Posted in balance, change, Goal, home, Legacy, Motivation, office

Home Office Re-do

Office

Today I thought I’d open up a little.  After my children moved out (roughly all at the same time), and after I had terrible withdrawals from the “empty nest” syndrome, I decided to make some changes around the house.

That took some time.  First, kids came back…one at a time and moved out again.  This was cyclic for a few years.  I don’t know about you, but when my children were little I told them frequently that they were to grow up, be competent and productive adults and move. Then, they did and I crumbled! I’m happy to report they are on their own and doing well and the empty nest is good!

Well, I digress. January of 2015 I made the first effort to turn one bedroom into and office/craft room. My husband built that desk you see. In case you can’t tell, it’s huge and has a book shelf in the front.  I love it!! He made it for my birthday. 🙂

This room quickly turned solely into a craft room for sewing.  I couldn’t seem to get the home computer up stairs and move the router and blah, blah, blah. I work full-time and didn’t have the energy in the evenings to create my space. But…

In October of 2015, I transferred to a new position at work.  It was a “remote” position.  So in November, I started working from home.  Best job ever! Anyway, I’ve been at this a while now.  No, at first my home office was not such a mess. I finally moved the home computer and router.  I crammed it all on my desk.  Before long, I found myself working on a small corner.

My work laptop is on a docking station with 2 monitors.  (How did we ever get along with only 1????) Then there was my home PC monitor, mouse and keyboard and my printer next to the desk (tower was under the desk).  My philosophy has always been “out of sight out of mind” so I keep EVERYTHING in sight – can’t you tell?   I may have to seek help for this condition…

A couple of weeks ago, my boss sent an email that she wanted 3 goals for this year.  Since it was short notice she was going to give some leeway.  I had a scheduled call with her 10 minutes after that email, so I scrambled to get 3 decent goals together.  Home office organization was one.  She thought that was a fabulous idea and wanted a photo before the end of the month.

I really am working on getting more organized.  Really! And since the home office clean up became associated with work, it immediately was put on the “GET IT DONE” list.  And done it is!  Feels great!

17 Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father. Colossians 3:17  (NASB)

Blessings!

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

