Posted in balance, change, Christian, Faith, Goal, God, home, Legacy, Motivation, Values

Clean or Cluttered?

cluttered space       or         Clutter and creativity

I’m sure you’ve heard the old adage that “a cluttered space means a cluttered mind”, haven’t you? Yet, many of the most well known brilliant people were known to be, well, pretty cluttered and disorganized. So what is it for you? Does cleanliness and organization bring clarity to you? OR,  can you only function in chaos?

I think I have been a bit of both in my life.  In the past, my mantra was “out of sight, out of mind” so EVERYTHING stayed in sight.  I’m telling you, if I put a work project in the desk drawer because I had to do something else at that time, I would slap forget about it until it was a crisis in my face!  If I packed a crock pot away at home because I rarely used it, I would later find that I had 2 or 3 because I had gone out and bought another when I needed it.

As I’m getting older, I find that my mind has more lolling around in there than I can possibly deal with.  And while I have always been a list maker, now I depend on the list in order to remember things.  And being surrounded by clutter has started making me somehow nervous or anxious.  I think this may be the case with many people these days as I see more and more about “brain dumps” once a week so you can stop “worrying” about things and still get it all done.

Suddenly, the question that comes to mind is, “Who decides what “it all” is that needs to be done?” Am I backing myself into a corner trying to please people who don’t care, get things I don’t need and miss out on what really matters?

If you’ve read the last few of my posts, you’ll know that I am decluttering and getting better organized.  I am not doing this to make an appearance or show to those who may pop into my house (which I love guests, by the way) or to be in on a minimalist fad.  I am doing this because, today, it is bringing peace and calm into my once very frenzied life.

 Blessings!

                                        “for God is not a God of confusion but of peace”                                                                                                     1 Corinthians 14:33

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

