Posted in balance, change, Christian, Faith, God, Legacy, Motivation, prayer, quiet time, Salvation, Vision

Let’s Make 2017 Even Better

lovegod

Well it’s January 6, 2017. Can you believe it? I’ve heard so many people say they are so glad 2016 is over. Done. Finished! I can understand that if 2016 was a hard year for you.  I’ve certainly had them. But what if 2016 was great?  Are you going to make 2017 even better?

My pastor always says that we should ask Christ to “Make it Count” rather than make it better. (For the record, I think he’s right.) If we are going to truly mean it when we ask God to ‘Make it Count’, then shouldn’t we be intentional about our relationship with Him?

Jesus said the greatest commandment is, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all you soul, and with all your mind.” (Matthew 22:37)

Our relationship with Christ is first!  It must be on fire if the love of God is going to pass through us onto those we meet. But how can we love God more?  We spend time with Him – alone – everyday.  We read His love letter to us – that’s the Bible. We memorized scripture so we can recall it in hard times.  We listen to His ‘still small’ voice and we obey it – immediately. Everyday we should be getting to know Him more intimately than the day before.

I’ve been married over 31 years. (I know that’s hard to believe, but he robbed the cradle! Anyway, I digress.) Let me tell you that when we got married, I was IN LOVE with that man. All these years later I LOVE him even more!  I know him better.  We’ve been through good and bad times together.  The longer we’re married, the more alike we become – well, I’ll use that loosely…

Jesus compared His relationship with His followers to the relationship of marriage.  He is the groom and we are the bride.  When I gave me heart to Jesus at salvation, I loved Him so much for saving me. I’ve been saved (His bride) now for 37 years.  I know Him better now than back then.  He has been with me – never leaving me – through good and bad times. The longer I belong to Him the more I (hopefully) am becoming like Him.

This year, I’m going to live on purpose.  I want everything I do and say and become to COUNT for the kingdom of God.

Won’t you join me? Let’s make 2017 even better than any year before…let’s make it count for the Kingdom of Christ!

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

One thought on “Let’s Make 2017 Even Better

  1. Excellent.  And a good blend of wisdom and humor.  (And, for the record, you don’t look any more like Bubba than when we first met you. ) You’re facing a challenging six months but charging into it with a great perspective. God bless! Steve

     Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

    From: Legacy316 To: steve_wallace@bellsouth.net Sent: Friday, January 6, 2017 10:12 AM Subject: [New post] Let’s Make 2017 Even Better #yiv5664230008 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5664230008 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5664230008 a.yiv5664230008primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5664230008 a.yiv5664230008primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5664230008 a.yiv5664230008primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5664230008 a.yiv5664230008primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5664230008 WordPress.com | Wendy posted: “Well it’s January 6, 2017. Can you believe it? I’ve heard so many people say they are so glad 2016 is over. Done. Finished! I can understand that if 2016 was a hard year for you.  I’ve certainly had them. But what if 2016 was great?  Are you going to mak” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

