Posted in balance, change, Christian, Faith, God, Legacy, Motivation, quiet time, Salvation, Vision

Part 2 of Making 2107 Even Better

serving

Last week we were reminded of the greatest commandment – to love God with all our heart, soul and mind.

Jesus went on to say that the second is like it. “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Matthew 22:39

Most of us know this as the “Golden Rule”.  If you’re my age or older, your mamma probably taught you this as a child when she was teaching you to play nice.

If we are being intentional in our relationship with Jesus like we talked about last week, then we should also be intentional with this second command.  We are to be a conduit, if you will, for the love of God to others.  This may sometimes happen in passing as the love of God “spills” over onto others that we are near. But to live on purpose, we will have to plan some opportunities for the love of God to “wash” over someone we are with. After all, we are asking God to “Make It Count”, right?

You don’t have to look far to see someone in need. I am finding there is NEVER a time that I can’t do something…I can always pray for them. And that is the most important thing we can and should do for anyone. Often times I find that there is usually something I can physically do for them, too.  It may be a word of encouragement or a helping hand. But if I’m not being intentional about serving God by serving others, I’ll miss it.

I am working on intentionally reaching out to someone I don’t know or don’t know well so I can build a relationship with them.  In that relationship, I’ll have more opportunities to share the love of Christ with them. And that’s what life is all about.

In case you haven’t figured it out, life is an active sport.  We are to be on the track running the race not on the sidelines. I heard a gentleman say the other day that when you see the finish line in a race, you kick it in gear.  He said he was reaching his retirement time and didn’t know how long God would leave him on earth, but that he felt like this was the final stretch of his race.  So he was kicking it in gear to serve more people than ever for the glory of God. He is a physician and he started a free medical clinic in Eureka Springs, Arkansas.

I don’t know about you, but that spoke volumes to me. Let’s love God with everything we’ve got so we can love our neighbors as ourselves!

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

