Posted in Bible, change, Christian, Faith, God, home, Legacy, Motivation, prayer, Salvation, Values

Right All Along

MomRight

The older I get, the more I agree with this clip I saw on Facebook.  For the record, “OMG” in my book means “Oh My Goodness”.  Just needed to clear that up.

Isn’t it ironic how, even though our parents lived in a different era, they were right about most everything? Our pastor recently said that his mother told him growing up that people don’t change.  So true.  Even Solomon, the wisest man to ever live, said there is nothing new under the sun.

When my Mom would say, “Birds of a feather flock together.” She was right.  When she would say, “No, not everyone is doing it – because you’re not.”  She was right. God always has a remnant and I want to be counted in that, don’t you?  When she said someone was being mean because they were jealous, she was right.  We know the list could go on from here but I’ll not bore you with more. We get the point.

I can’t count the times I wish I could tell my parents, “Oh My Goodness, you were right!” I can recall many times that my parents would let me make my own mistakes.  Sometimes I would come to them and say, “Why didn’t you tell me?”  One time in particular my Mom just shook her head and said, “You wouldn’t have listened…”  I’m the last of seven children.  I got the impression she knew from experience that I probably wouldn’t have listened.

My Dad’s famous answer to “Why didn’t you tell me?” was “There’s no experience like bought experience.”  Oh, if I had a dime for all the ‘bought’ lessons…

While I would have to say that my parents were right about most everything, I must tell you that Jesus IS right about EVERYTHING.  So when He says not to do something, it’s for our good that we DON’T do it.  When He says to DO something, it’s for our good that we DO it.

For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments; and His commandments are not burdensome. I John 5:3

Do you ever feel like His commandments are burdensome?  I have.  But when I understand that His commands are for my good and His glory, the burden is lifted. When I am obedient to His will, His commands are not heavy.  When I trust that Jesus is ALWAYS RIGHT and I adjust to His Will, I don’t have to ask, “Why didn’t You tell me?” After all, He did tell us…

Author:

I believe we all have a calling on our lives. Therefore, I am determined to live my life on purpose to follow God's call.

Leave a Reply

